The Department of Anthropology offers undergraduate and graduate courses in the five fields of anthropology: cultural and social anthropology, archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and anthropological theory. Visit Website


Vision: A department that is competitive and prestigious within and outside the academe in terms of instruction, research, and extension services.

Mission: To steer the Department to be a Center of Development in Geography in the country within the next five to ten years and an Institute in the University in the near future. View Website


The Department of History was founded on 3 June 1910 along with six other departments that then comprised the College of Liberal Arts. The first professors were Americans and most courses were centered on the history of Europe and the United States. In the next years, with the coming in of Filipino teachers, the Department's pro-Filipino orientation was eventually beginning to appear as reflected on the Philippine History subjects that the Department offered.

In 1915, the Department started to offer graduate courses for students taking master's degree. The doctoral program, on the other hand, was launched in 1976. Visit Website


The Department of Linguistics of the College of Social Sciences and Philosophy in U.P. Diliman was established in August 28, 1922 with Prof. Trinidad H. Pardo de Tavera as its first chairperson. Its name then was Department of Philippine Linguistics. It was renamed to Department of Oriental Languages in 1924, Department of Oriental Languages and Linguistics in 1963, Department of Linguistics and Asian Languages in 1973, and finally Department of Linguistics in 1983. The primary aim of the department since its founding has been the scientific study, preservation and promotion of the Philippine languages through teaching, field research and publication. Visit Website


The department of Philosophy of the University of the Philippines Diliman is the forefront of the analytic tradition of philosophizing in the Philippines.

Political Science

A Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) Center of Excellence in Political Science in the country. It is home to eminent Political Science scholars delivering the best instruction in the discipline. The Department also undertakes research projects with policy and community impact, consistently producing local and international publications. Through its active leadership in the association of Political Science professionals, the Department has provided service to the wider public from its pool of public intellectuals, experts and advocates. Visit Website


As early as 1910, two years after the University of the Philippines was founded, psychology was being taught at the Department of Philosophy and Psychology, College of Liberal Arts. The Department was placed under Dr. Henry S. Townsend, an American who taught all of the Psychology courses being offered then, namely General Psychology, Genetic Psychology, Educational Psychology and Tests and Measurements. Soon psychology separated and became part of the College of Education when the college was created in 1918. Townsend became acting head of this new department as he continued to be the head of the Department of Philosophy at the College of Liberal Arts (de la Llana 1972: 4; Santamaria 1961: 13-14). Under the able leadership of Dean Francisco Benitez, the UP modelled for the entire country the curricular utilization of psychology in education. In 1959, the Department of Psychology was transferred to the College of Arts and Sciences, "an event which marked the weaning of the discipline from the apron strings of Education in the UP." (Lagmay 1982:6) Visit Website


The UP Department of Sociology has been providing quality education, research, and community/extension services through its various programs for almost one hundred years. It was first founded as the Department of Anthropology and Sociology in 1908 and later restructured as the Department of Sociology and Social Welfare in the 1950's. On 9 November 1962, the Department was established as a distinct unit of the University and came to be known as the UP Department of Sociology. Visit Website

Palma Hall, University of the Philippines Diliman, Quezon City | Telefax: (+63 2) 926 3486
Copyright 2014. All Rights Reserved.
College of Social Sciences and Philosophy | University of the Philippines Diliman